The Book!

What do peaches and sarcasm have in common?

I’m asking because I have no idea. Somehow modern-day vernacular transformed the cheerful phrase “I’m peachy” into something negative. (You could say it’s the pits… Right? Right? … No? It’s okay. You can roll your eyes.) But as I was growing up, my youth group didn’t get the memo. Being “peachy” to us meant that in spite of life’s challenges, we were still blessed. I didn’t appreciate growing up with that perspective until I got old enough to understand how hard life actually is.

I didn’t want to write this book. (Can I say that?) I write bounty-hunter spaceships and samurai superheroes and dragon-riding middle-grade princess books. Not real life, actual stories about hurt and grief and struggle. But God has taught me so much about finding joy in pain and disappointment that when He asked me to tell my story, I couldn’t exactly say no.

So we’re going to talk about how to be happy. That’s what we all want, right? But how is happiness even possible when life is so hard, so dark, so broken?

Fair warning: I love laughing. So get ready, because Jesus set me on one wild adventure when I came to know Him 30 years ago. There are horses involved, y’all. Horses, tornadoes, riding lawn mowers, buried pirate treasure, German plumbers, and much more. But, in the end, we’re going to come back to the same truth I started learning as a freshman in high school: Life hurts, but you can choose to be happy.

I promise, you’ll never look at peaches the same way again.

Coming from Bold Vision Books on April 23, 2024!